User Login

Croatia is now part of the European Union


Croatian flagEffective Monday, July 1, 2013, Croatia will be part of the European Union. Croatia will accept carnets for Commercial Samples, Exhibitions and Fairs and Professional Equipment. No carnet validation is required when traveling between countries in the EU including Croatia. Note that only Greece, Bulgaria and Croatia are part of the EU on the Balkan Peninsula. Other Balkan carnet members are: Greece, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia. Make sure that the carnet is validated when traveling between non-EU Balkan countries and EU countries to prevent future claims.

The carnet authority in Croatia is the Croatian Chamber of Economy. We are unaware of any other specific requirements for the use of Carnet in Croatia.

Here is a list of Non-EU countries as of July 1st, 2013:

  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Switzerland
  • Serbia
  • Montenegro
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Macedonia (Former Yugoslav Republic of)
  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Belarus
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • San Marino - not a carnet country
  • Liechtenstein
  • Vatican City - not a carnet country
  • Russia
  • Ukraine

Please contact a Carnet Specialist at the boomerang carnetsĀ® Carnet HelpLineĀ®   (800) ATA-2900 / (800) 282-2900 or e-mail us for additional information information if you are planning to use a carnet for travel to Croatia.

Get an ATA Carnet Now